Technical Award in IT

What will the learner study as part of this qualification?

Learners taking this qualification will study the
fundamental aspects required in three IT occupational areas: creative, data management and technical. They will also study the specific theory and skills required in their chosen occupational area in greater depth resulting in the creation and evaluation of an IT system.

Learning will take place through a mixture of real-life case studies, practical tasks and a study of theoretical concepts. They will develop their IT knowledge, understanding and skills. Learning will be engaging and take place in a vocational context, allowing the learner the opportunity to create products, or artefacts that demonstrate their ability to put theory into practice.

· Creating a website
· Creating an interactive entertainment product

Data management:
· Creating a spreadsheet
· Creating a database

· Creating a small office network
· Building and configuring a PC.

Learners will complete three mandatory units (one externally assessed and two internally assessed)

Unit 1: Practical skills in IT (internally assessed)
In this unit learners will develop a broad range of key skills in two of the occupational areas.

Unit 2: Creating IT systems internally assessed)
This unit allows learners to focus on one occupational area with a view to developing their understanding and skills in designing, creating, testing and evaluating a complete IT system to meet the requirements of an end user.

Unit 3: Fundamentals of IT (externally assessed)
This externally assessed unit will provide learners with the underpinning knowledge and understanding required to work within the IT industry, including learning what IT systems are, where they are used and their component parts.

Learners will achieve a qualification that is relevant to the needs of industry, places them in a sound position for progression to further study and equips them with relevant employability skills.

This Technical Award is designed to allow learners to progress to A-levels or level 2 qualifications or apprenticeships, to junior roles in the IT industry they are learning about, or level 3 vocational qualifications.

Go to top